Coaches & Directors


image

For any questions concerning NEW INTEREST 
​​​​​​​we hold monthly Zoom sessions to highlight what our Team can do for you. 
To receive your invite, please contact learntoswim@duncanstingrays.com

For all of your other needs, please contact leanne@duncanstingrays.com 
​​​​​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
For all questions related to safety, or policy issues, etc please contact our volunteer Board of Directors at executive@duncanstingrays.com

Coaches & Staff

A look at our great staff!

image

Leanne Sirup

Head Coach & Operations Manager

Leanne is entering her 15th season as the Stingrays Head Coach.  She is certified as an NCCP Level 3 Sr Coach and is working towards her Advanced Coaching Diploma with the Canadian Sport Institute: Ontario.  Leanne is also a Learning Facilitator for the NCCP programs: Community Sport Coach, 101, and 201 courses. 
Our HC is also the pleased to be named Head Coach for Aboriginal Team BC since 2004.​​​​​​​

image​​​​​​​

Chelsea Langelo

Senior Coach

Chelsea is entering her 12th season with the Stingrays and is an integral part of our Sr swimming program. 
Chelsea brings a wealth of experience from both a SwimBC & BCSSA background as an Athlete and a Coach.  Chelsea is trained as an NCCP 201 Coach, certified NCCP 101 Coach, and certified as a Swim Instructor for both Red Cross and I Can Swim.

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Carrie Matheson

Senior Coach & Registrar​​​​

Carrie is an NCCP Age Group Certified Coach (L2) with a teaching background.  She is also currently working with Swim BC as their Sr Manager, Technical Operations.
​​​​​​​We're excited for the depth and experience that Carrie is bringing to our club. 

​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​

image​​​​​​​

Katrina Pellegrino

Administrator extraordinaire

Katrina keeps us all in line.





​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Steve Carson

Senior Coach

Steve is an NCCP Level 2 Certified Coach and the former Head Coach of the Fort St John Inconnu Swim Team. Steve raced Nationally as a youth with the Richmond Rapids Swim Team. Steve will be working with the A & B Groups. 
​​​​​​​

image

Carley Battie

Senior Coach

Carley is an NCCP L1 Certified Coach and has worked with the Stingrays swimmers for the past 3 seasons.  Carley raced Provincially as a member of the Duncan Swim Team and earned her spot on the DST Record Board.  
​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Stephen Shumka

Masters Coach


​​​​​​​​​​​Stephen comes to the Stingrays as an NCCP L2 trained Coach and a wealth of experience as a Competitor including medalling at the Sr National Championships.  We're fortunate to have Stephen on staff with his background and knowledge as a Registered Massage Therapist.
​​​​​​​


​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Kim MacLean

Yoga Instructor: A/B/C groups

Kim is in her 18th year of Yoga and began her YTT 200 hour teacher training program in 2014 and she started formally teaching in 2015. Kim is certified to teach with a trauma informed lense and has taught 1000s of hours of group classes.  Sports that have utilized Kim's talent and skills include youth hockey, soccer, skating, and field hockey teams as well as adults and special needs kids.
​​​​​​​"I love what I do and I want to share the benefits of yoga with everyone."​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Koen Hales

FUNdamentals Coach

Koen is in his 2nd season as a Stingrays Active Start & FUNdamentals Coach.  Koen is certified as an NCCP Community Sport Coach as well as an I Can Swim Instructor.

image

Mary Paridaen van Veen

FUNdamentals Coach

Mary is in her 2nd season as a Stingrays Active Start & FUNdamentals Coach.  Mary is certified as an NCCP Community Sport Coach as well as an I Can Swim Instructor.

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Kiana Navas-Perla

FUNdamentals Coach


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​



 ​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​






Board of Directors

2020 - 2021 Season


POSITIONEMAILMEMBER
President / Treasurerpresident@duncanstingrays.comLeanne Schultz
Secretarysecretary@duncanstingrays.comElisabeth Ruiter
Director at Largedirectorjoey@duncanstingrays.comJoey Dahlstrom
Manager of Operationsleanne@duncanstingrays.comLeanne Sirup



Fundraising Chairpersonfundraising@duncanstingrays.comHeather Roach
Family Liaisonfamilyliaison@duncanstingrays.comKendra Stiwich
Team Apparel Representativeapparel@duncanstingrays.com

Jennifer Fairweather
​​​​​​​& Colleen Mullin

Meet Managermeetmanager@duncanstingrays.comJoey Dahlstrom
Events Coordinatorsevents@duncanstingrays.comGiesu Atashband
& Tim Fairweather
​​​​​​​& Shira Windecker
Officials & Volunteers Coordinatorofficials@duncanstingrays.comLisa Helmer
Grants Coordinatorgrants@duncanstingrays.comPeter Lake