Coaches & Directors


image

For any questions concerning NEW INTEREST 
​​​​​​​we hold monthly Zoom sessions to highlight what our Team can do for you. 
To receive your invite, please contact learntoswim@duncanstingrays.com

For all of your other needs, please contact leanne@duncanstingrays.com 
​​​​​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
For all questions related to safety, or policy issues, etc please contact our volunteer Board of Directors at executive@duncanstingrays.com

Coaches

A look at our great coaches!

image

Leanne Sirup

Head Coach (co) & Administrative Director

Leanne is entering her 14th season as the Stingrays Head Coach.  She is certified as an NCCP Level 3 Sr Coach and is working towards her Advanced Coaching Diplomma aka NCCP L4.  Leanne is also a Learning Facilitator for the NCCP programs: 201, 101, and Community Sport Coach courses. 
Leanne is also the Head Coach for Aboriginal Team BC since 2004.​​​​​​​

image

Brent Forsyth

Head Coach (co) & Technical Director

Brent is entering his 4th season with the Stingrays as Assistant Head Coach.  Brent comes to us with a rich history in Coaching spanning 3 decades and being Head Coach at programs such as the Edmonton Olympians and most recently, the Island Swimming Club.  Brent is trained as an NCCP Level 3 Coach and is our lead technical advisor for the DST program.

image​​​​​​​

Sophie Paridaen van Veen

Senior Coach
​​​​​​​

Sophie is a trained as an NCCP 201 Coach, certified NCCP 101 Coach, and an I Can Swim Instructor.  Sophie is in her 4th season with the Stingrays and is Lead Coach for our Solo Stingrays program.  Sophie has a background in both the BCSSA and the SwimBC organizations as both an Athlete and a Caoch.

image

Chelsea Langelo

Senior Coach

Chelsea is entering her 11th season with the Stingrays and is an integral key to our C group program. 
Chelsea brings a wealth of experience from both a SwimBC & BCSSA background as an Athlete and a Coach.  Chelsea is trained as an NCCP 201 Coach, certified NCCP 101 Coach, and certified as a Swim Instructor for both Red Cross and I Can Swim.

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Carley Battie

Stroke School Instructor

Carley is in her 3rd season as a Stingrays Stroke School Instructor.  Carley is trained as an NCCP 101 Coach as well as being certified as an I Can Swim Instructor​​​​​.​​

image

McKinley Thomas-Perry

Stroke School Instructor

McKinley is in her 3rd season as a Stingrays Stroke School Instructor.  McKinley is trained as an NCCP 101 Coach as well as being certified as an I Can Swim Instructor. ​​​

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Koen Hales

Stroke School Instructor

Koen is in his 1st season as a Stingrays Stroke School Instructor.  Koen is certified as an NCCP Community Sport Coach as well as an I Can Swim Instructor.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​image​​​​​​​

Mary Paridaen van Veen

Stroke School Instructor

 ​​​​​​​Mary is in her 1st season as a Stingrays Stroke School Instructor.  Mary is certified as an NCCP Community Sport Coach as well as an I Can Swim Instructor.
​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
image​​​​​​​



​​​​​​​T
revin Buckland

Stroke School Instructor

Trevin is in his 1st season as a Stingrays Stroke School Instructor.  Trevin is certified as an NCCP Community Sport Coach as well as an I Can Swim Instructor.​​​​​​​

image



​​​​​​​Scott Noa

Strength Trainer

Scott is our Team's dedicated Strenth & Conditioning Coach working out of his own gym: Road to Recovery.
Scott has been with our program since 2014 and continues to work closely with our Staff in developing the Strength program for our Sr Swimmers as well as assisting in the development of the Dryland program for both our Sr & Jr Team members.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​




​​​​​​​​​










Board of Directors

2020 - 2021 Season


POSITIONEMAILMEMBER
Presidentpresident@duncanstingrays.comAmber Battie
Treasurertreasurer@duncanstingrays.comLeanne Schultz
Director at Largedirectorjoey@duncanstingrays.comJoey Dahlstrom
Technical Directorbrent@duncanstingrays.comBrent Forsyth
Administrative Directorleanne@duncanstingrays.comLeanne Sirup
Fundraising Chairpersonfundraising@duncanstingrays.comHeather Roach
Family Liaisonfamilyliaison@duncanstingrays.comKendra Stiwich
Team Apparel Representativeapparel@duncanstingrays.com

Jennifer Fairweather
​​​​​​​& Colleen Mullin

Team Travelteamtravel@duncanstingrays.comJulia Hoffman
Meet Managermeetmanager@duncanstingrays.comJoey Dahlstrom
Officials Coordinatorofficials@duncanstingrays.comLisa Helmer
Grants Coordinatorgrants@duncanstingrays.comPeter Lake